Copeland Furniture, Miniforms share top design prize

Copeland Furniture and Miniforms tied for the top prize in the 2022 Edward Haimsohn Design Awards presented by the Contemporary Design Group at its recent annual conference in Sarasota, Florida.

Copeland Furniture’s Lisse chair was designed by Tim Copeland.

Copeland Furniture, based in Bradford, Vermont, was honored for its Lisse chair, designed by Tim Copeland and constructed of sustainably harvested American black walnut in a sculptural, seamless design without offset joints. The award-winning Soda occasional table from Miniforms in Meolo, Italy, was designed by Yiannis Ghikas and is created with a single volume of handblown Murano glass shaped by master glassmakers.

Miniforms Soda table, designed by Yiannis Ghikas, is made of handblown Murano glass.

The Edward Haimsohn Design Award recognizes manufacturers producing outstanding and original furniture designs. A panel of anonymous judges, consisting of the Contemporary Design Group’s retailer members, evaluates nominees on originality, creativity, consumer appeal, use of materials, functionality and manufacturing execution.

First runner up was the Hanna console, designed by Jim Liu and produced by Greenington Fine Bamboo Furniture. Second runner-up went to Via Seating for its Onda desk chair, designed by Studio V.  

There was another tie for third runner-up, with honors going to Quentin seating designed by Studio Ervas Basilico Girardi for Il Loft and the Interval collection designed Al Glass and Matthew Weatherly for BDI.  

“Thank you to all the manufacturers that submitted these amazing designs,” said Lora Sigesmund of PerLora Furniture in Pittsburg.

All fourteen finalists (listed in alphabetical order by manufacturer) were Kobe chair by American Leather, Interval collection by BDI, Soma table by BDI, San chair by Conde House, Lisse chair by Copeland Furniture, Hanna console by Greenington, Laguna chair by Herval, Quentin seating by Il Loft, Mira seating by Il Loft, Flex Top mattress by Literie Laurier, Soda table by Miniforms, Curveline console by Skovby, Sail table by Tomesella and Onda chair by Via Seating.  A lookbook of all entries and a video of the complete presentation is available now on the Contemporary Design Group website.

The award is named after Contemporary Design Group’s co-founder, Edward Haimsohn, who was well-known for his strong eye for design and attention to quality. The Contemporary Design Group is a national association of independent home furnishings showrooms, specializing in modern and contemporary design.  

To learn more about the Edward Haimsohn Design Award, view all 2022 entries, or to enter a design in the 2023 competition, visit

View Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Subscribe Now to the FREE Design News Now newsletter for the latest in product, design and retail trends in the home furnishings industry. Delivered to your inbox weekly!

Scroll To Top