Judges select record number of finalists for INNOVATION + DESIGN awards

Judges have selected 49 finalists for this year’s INNOVATION + DESIGN awards, a record number.

As the International Society of Furniture Designers INNOVATION + DESIGN’s reputation increases, so does the number of exceptional furniture entries making the judges’ jobs even more difficult in selecting finalists for the furniture design awards, the organization said. The third annual furniture industry-sponsored juried competition is open to professional designers who make their own products and the next generation of serious woodworking students who are anticipating a career in the custom wood and related home furnishings industries.

Winners will be announced at the Meet the Designers awards celebration at 7 p.m., Sept. 22 at 401 W. English on the campus of Congdon Yards in High Point. 

“We were pleased to see that once again the number of creative entries this year increased over last year’s, making this award even more prestigious,” said John Conrad, ISFD executive director. “In the next and final round, the judges will be able to experience the entries in-person to select winners in each category. Also, the finalists’ projects will be uniquely photographed by more than 25 area photographers participating in the INNOVATION + DESIGN’s photographic competition and voted on by the exhibition visitors.” The People’s Choice photography winners will be announced at a celebration co-hosted with Theater Art Galleries from 5-7 p.m. Oct. 13, also at 401 W. English.”

Following the awards celebration, the INNOVATION + DESIGN winners’ and finalists’ projects will be on display from 3-7 p.m. Thursdays and Fridays and from noon-7 p.m. Saturdays at 401 W. English until Oct. 26.

As a bonus, from 3-6 pm Oct. 22, ISFD will host a reception where industry executives, designers and merchants will be on hand to review the finalists’ projects for potential production opportunities. All are welcome to attend.

The professional finalists are:

Justin Bailey, Lighting, Polyp Lighting

Brian Boggs, Dining Room Furniture, Crescent Table

Brian Boggs, Seating, Cio Armchair

Ashoke Chhabra, Lighting, Hourglass Chaos Floor Lamp

Erika Cross, Occasional Tables, Anvil

Joseph Holmes, Occasional Tables, Walnut Offcut Table

Stewart Junge, Dining Room Furniture, fiVO Design Bart Cart

Stewart Junge, Occasional Tables, fiVO Design MOD 5 with Accessories

Grant Kaihoi, Seating, Scaffold Bench- White Oak

Jeremy Kamiya, Occasional Tables, Desk

Cory Martin, Occasional Storage, Larder Pantry

Christopher Martin, Occasional Tables, End Cut Coffee Table

Christopher Martin, Seating, Makowa Chair

Wells Mason, Seating, Umasi Bench

Scott McGlason, Seating, RB Rocking Chair

Mark Moore, Occasional Tables, Tension Console Table

Ryan Nicholson, Lighting, Yamadera (Mountain Shrine)

Kelly Parker, Dining Room Furniture, Dreamliner Barstool

Mark Plakotoris, Lighting, Walnut Tension Floor Lamp

Adrienne Romine, Lighting, Saturn Lamp

Adrienne Romine, Seating, Arches Bench

Joshua Saltman, Seating, Occasional Chair

Bruce Schuettinger, Occasional Tables, Porta De Soul

Joel Scilley, Accessories, Black Barky Turntable

Douglas Soffe, Accessories, Venom

Douglas Soffe, Occasional Tables, Form in Motion

Justin Stabb, Accessories, Tetra Illuminated Wall System

Dean Verhoeven, Seating, Auto-Adaptive Festival Chair

Hasan Zaidi, Seating, Note Lounge

The student finalists are:

Milan Bhullar, Accessories, Multi-faceted Mirror

Milan Bhullar, Occasional Tables, Hooked On! Table

Milan Bhullar, Seating, Horizon Chair

See Also

Brooke Brady, Occasional Storage, Chess Set Curio Cabinet

Brianna Cappelli, Lighting, Solace: Chandeliers

Matthew Carr, Lighting, Push

Matthew Carr, Occasional Storage, Vice Box

Miriam Gibson, Seating, Patchwork Seating Set

Yingxin Gong, Accessories, 3L Side Table

Seth Hodges, Occasional Storage, Taian Cabinet

Anthony Isaac, Occasional Tables, Webfoot

Anthony Isaac, Seating, Indoor Chair

Jiayan Li, Seating, “Cove” (from Anicca Collection)

Elaine Mansure, Lighting, Floret

Elaine Mansure, Occasional Storage, Georgie

Gabriela Saadia Jinich, Accessories, STAV

Gabriela Saadia Jinich, Seating, Cecillia

Connor Schulz, Seating, Better Habits Chair

Stephen Thrasher, Occasional Tables, Kagome Woven Wood Table

Lecheng Wei, Seating, Hid and Seek Chair

The winners of the INNOVATION + DESIGN competition will receive cash prizes of $250-$1000 for professional and student levels in seating, occasional tables, occasional storage, lighting, accessories and dining room furniture categories. Best of show winners will receive Congdon Yards Generator gift cards to work on any project of their choice. As an added bonus, this year’s finalists will be interviewed for the international podcast, “Design Between the Lines,” and the winners will be featured in industry publications.

INNOVATION + DESIGN 2022 is supported by ISFD, and partners: Alderman Company, Bienenstock Furniture Library, Congdon Yards, Furniture Today, High Point Market Authority,  IFDA, International Market Centers, Packaging Center Inc, Phillips Collection, Theatre Art Galleries, HPXD, The Earl and Kathryn Congdon Family Foundation and Visit High Point.

View Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Subscribe Now to the FREE Design News Now newsletter for the latest in product, design and retail trends in the home furnishings industry. Delivered to your inbox weekly!

Scroll To Top